What kind of gamer are you?

What kind of gamer r u?(mutiple choice enabled)

• Total voters

Revelade

BattleForums Member
Reaction score
Website
Visit site
False Hope said:
No one is saying that button mashing cant be countered. At least I don't think anyone is, but then again I'm not really reading half of the posts.

However, the best SC2 players can and has lost to a complete newb to the game even if they play to their best skill, because they are completely unpredictable. You bring up WC3 again. There is no way that one of the best WC3 players (playing like they normally would against the second best in the world) will lose to a new person. Will the new person be unpredictable? Of course, however there is no chance in hell that they will win, based simply on the fact that the pro has much more skill.
Oh really? If you're so confident, let's see a video of this happening. Actually, why don't you get me his phone number and call him to confirm this. Really.

Strategy games are always about Skill more than anything else. You can say the same about SC2, but you'de be partially wrong. There is some level of skill in the game, yes. But that skill can be countered be just being a random moron pressing random buttons, and getting lucky. The completely new person could end up getting two Ring Outs and winning the series. The same cannot be said about a true strategy game such as Ages of Empires. The new person simply doesn't have the knowledge or the skill to manage resources and tech properly that a pro does.
Skill is a vague term. Since we agree that chess is THE definition of strategy, I will refer to that. Chess has no effort on execution. It's a matter of picking up the piece and dropping it on a location. Does it take a pro to do this? What seperates a good from a bad player is CHOOSING WHERE to place the piece.