error25: A critical error has occured while intializing direct3D

Discussion in 'Diablo II' started by FAKE, Sep 25, 2005.

  1. FAKE

    FAKE Guest

    Every time I try to get on diablo 2 it says: error25: A critical error has occured while intializing direct3D
    WTF.......... HELP ME PLSSSSS!!!!! :(
     
  2. x42bn6

    x42bn6 Retired Staff

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2002
    Messages:
    15,150
    Likes received:
    2
    Trophy points:
    38
    From:
    London, United Kingdom
    Run the Diablo II video test. What happens?*
     
  3. watergodlove

    watergodlove smile or a troll will eat you

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Likes received:
    0
    Trophy points:
    0
    From:
    missery
    ok i am using windows vista got the same error 25 message changed my setting to 2d then got error 22 message i've change the game compatibility to other windows versions and have updated all my sound and video drives and have the newest version of directx.

    CAN SOME ONE PLZ HELP!!!
    also the game worked fine for about a week b4 i started getting the messages
    any info would be greatly appreciated!!

    PEACE LOVE & WATER
     
  4. concrete_sox

    concrete_sox Premium Respected Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2006
    Messages:
    3,717
    Likes received:
    7
    Trophy points:
    0
    install ur video card driver ROFL LOL
     
  5. Dragnskull

    Dragnskull Retired Staff

    Joined:
    May 30, 2003
    Messages:
    6,805
    Likes received:
    12
    Trophy points:
    38
    From:
    Humble, Texas
    seirous answer:

    Vista, since day one(ish), has been giving random problems with D2, some say it works, some say it doesnt, some say it works SOMETIMES, i havnt seen a true answer to anything besides "wait a week and reinstall"

    my best suggestion would be to setup a dual boot for windows XP though, i suggest that to everyone tha thas vista
     
  6. torrid mind

    torrid mind Diablo Forum ******

    Joined:
    May 17, 2003
    Messages:
    3,278
    Likes received:
    6
    Trophy points:
    38
    From:
    under the sea
    Vista is your only problem.
     
  7. Wing Zero

    Wing Zero lol just as planned

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Messages:
    12,203
    Likes received:
    12
    Trophy points:
    38
    From:
    Philly
  8. IceDevil9

    IceDevil9 BattleForums Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2003
    Messages:
    3,418
    Likes received:
    3
    Trophy points:
    0
    From:
    CA
    Why are we not posting this in the correct forum?

    -Frank
     
  9. Wing Zero

    Wing Zero lol just as planned

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Messages:
    12,203
    Likes received:
    12
    Trophy points:
    38
    From:
    Philly
    b/c im half awake. NOW DIE
     
  10. Laharl

    Laharl Guest

    Problem is Vista. Solution is Windows XP.

    Computer - Vista + Windows XP = Diablo II working properly.
     
  11. watergodlove

    watergodlove smile or a troll will eat you

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Likes received:
    0
    Trophy points:
    0
    From:
    missery
    thanks all for your help i will post back if i can get it working again
     
  12. Malcom Sex

    Malcom Sex Member!

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2004
    Messages:
    1,018
    Likes received:
    1
    Trophy points:
    0
    From:
    Virginia
    i dont know if you can still do it in vista cause im still on xp, but you may be able to run it in compatability mode for an older os and that may work
     
  13. AZN_FLEA

    AZN_FLEA BattleForums Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2004
    Messages:
    1,388
    Likes received:
    0
    Trophy points:
    0
    From:
    .
    dont use vista its so ****.
     
  14. ChrisH36

    ChrisH36 Guy with Most Posts on Quiet Board.

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    15,042
    Likes received:
    4
    Trophy points:
    0
    From:
    Temple Prime, Sarajevo
    After reading this thread, I have came to this conclusion:

    First of all guys, this is help this guy with his problem with the resources he has. NOT BASH VISTA BECAUSE IT SUCKS TO MAKE HIM FEEL BAD thread. Cheeze, Dragn, and Wing seem to be the only ones who have some finite advice here. If I was that kid and I read that advice, I would think of you all as *no offense* dorks and not post here.

    In order for him to install XP properly, he would need to get XP before it goes off the shelves. He can't download it to a CD because it may not be registered as authentic. That would be spending more time and resources than he would normally spend to fix a minor problem. And what if he uninstalls Vista, and XP doesnt work? I was wondering did half of you think about that before you posted, or let alone actually install and use the OS?

    Second, Blizzard Tech Support is decent. But pretty unreliable. They are good for basic problems, but I ask them for more advanced help, and they dont give me what I want.

    I am running Vista Premium at this house, and all my D2 mods and vanilla D2 are running at optimal parameters. The problem with Vista is it has Dx9, but the DLLs for it are in a different package than the one Diablo II wants. Every single game I own runs on Vista properly even, the only con is I only have 1 GB of free RAM out of 2.

    First, go to Microsoft's website and download DirectX End User Runtime, and install that. This will give you the updated APIs for Dx9 and Dx10. If you are running 64bit Windows, then I don't know what to say. Because 64 Bits cannot install drivers as of yet.

    I found this to be a solution since my friend had problems installing Age of Empires IV on his Vista machine. He was missing dx9_32.dll, so he downloaded the End User Runtime. It ended up working and installing properly. This was the first thing I did when I got this PC operational.