Battleforums is extremely slow.

Discussion in 'Forum Support' started by Jenny, Dec 11, 2007.

  1. Jenny

    Jenny is ....listed

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Messages:
    4,283
    Likes received:
    10
    Trophy points:
    38
    Opening any section or part of the forum is extremely slow. I can't even open multiple tabs or windows of Battleforums or sometimes even load a page without getting this:

    [​IMG]

    What's up? No other place I go on my computer loads this slow or gives me this error.
     
  2. RoaCh of DisCord

    RoaCh of DisCord Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2003
    Messages:
    6,502
    Likes received:
    12
    Trophy points:
    38
    I don't have this problem personally. And who the hell uses internet explorer? :(

    Have you tried using a different browser, just for testing purposes?
     
  3. ST

    ST Premium Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2003
    Messages:
    2,579
    Likes received:
    8
    Trophy points:
    38
    From:
    Phoenix, Arizona
    Thank god someone else is getting that error, I use IE on one of my laptops and I get that error. Thought it was a virus or something. I don't get the error on FF though.
     
  4. Jenny

    Jenny is ....listed

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Messages:
    4,283
    Likes received:
    10
    Trophy points:
    38
    I don't get it on FF either, but it's still pretty slow.
     
  5. concrete_sox

    concrete_sox Premium Respected Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2006
    Messages:
    3,717
    Likes received:
    7
    Trophy points:
    0
    few i thought i was the only 1 this is y i use firefox
     
  6. Arkillo

    Arkillo The best of both worlds

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2003
    Messages:
    10,653
    Likes received:
    6
    Trophy points:
    0
    it's all about the flash banner at the top, that thing needs to go. it sucks up too much **** loading.
     
  7. Jenny

    Jenny is ....listed

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Messages:
    4,283
    Likes received:
    10
    Trophy points:
    38
    Banner should just say Battle Forms but leave the sparkle on the B & F that rocks.
     
  8. kinkarso

    kinkarso ex-admin

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2007
    Messages:
    836
    Likes received:
    0
    Trophy points:
    0
    From:
    Vancouver, BC
    Have a look now. Is the error fixed? If not, what skin are you using?

    Thank you,
    Donny
     
  9. ST

    ST Premium Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2003
    Messages:
    2,579
    Likes received:
    8
    Trophy points:
    38
    From:
    Phoenix, Arizona
    The error was pretty random for me, but I haven't gotten it now.
     
  10. RoaCh of DisCord

    RoaCh of DisCord Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2003
    Messages:
    6,502
    Likes received:
    12
    Trophy points:
    38
    I agree. Also, instead of using flash (which personally, I dislike), you could simply give it the *sparkle* but save it as an animated gif. You could still have a bit of animation, and get rid of the slowness/trouble of flash.
     
  11. kinkarso

    kinkarso ex-admin

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2007
    Messages:
    836
    Likes received:
    0
    Trophy points:
    0
    From:
    Vancouver, BC
    The problem with an animated GIF is that it would load even slower, and would be bad quality. I've just sent an email to the designer who created the flash logo to have it optimized better to load faster. It's 40kb atm. I'll try to get it as low as 20kb.

    Thank you,
    Donny
     
  12. RoaCh of DisCord

    RoaCh of DisCord Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2003
    Messages:
    6,502
    Likes received:
    12
    Trophy points:
    38
    Good point. I haven't worked with animations in a long time, I forgot gifs are even slower. Lawl.
     
  13. MacMan

    MacMan BattleForums Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2003
    Messages:
    1,943
    Likes received:
    1
    Trophy points:
    38
    Jenny, would you say you are a miserable user?