Z~When should I expand?

exobyte

Member!
Reaction score
When should I expand?

The one part of StarCraft that pisses me off the most is expanding. I never know when to do it in my build order and that usually spells out death for me. Any suggestions?

Phoenix2003

BattleForums Senior Member
Reaction score
Website
Visit site
If it's zvt, expand at 12 control unless you're at very close spots.
If it's zvz, depends on situation. I'm not too good at this mu.
If it's zvp, expand at 12 when you're at far away spots.

a popular build would be 12 hatch 11 pool. decent economy and lets you defend from offensive bunker. watch out for zealot rushes and 9-pool builds by enemy zerg.

All-in-all, experience will teach you this. 12 hatch(at expansion) 11 pool work best at a 12/6 or 3/9 scenario.
If it's zvp, you might wanna 12 pool 11 hatch to hold zealot rushes.

Scouting the enemy build will let you know when you can safely expand. Generally in zvt, 12 hatch 11 pool is fine. After the first overlord is done, make three more drones and use one of them to make a new hatchery.

Sakuhta

Reaction score
Lol, there is no 'safe/perfect way' to expand. It just depends 1) what youre going to do 2) what your opponent is doing 3) what your opponent is.

In Z v P youd be stupid to expand at 12 control. They're a power race, you need to get units 1st to defend.

amrtin77

Reaction score
Website
Visit site
its completely dependant on the situation. expanding is something that cannot be given a build order.... you have to know what your enemy is doing, know if youll need the money required to expand, where your expanding to, how your going to defend your expo and your main, how to transfer troops if need be... just expand when you have the money and have a way to defend your expo. keep scouting....

the best advice i can give is keep scouting all through the game. i usually forget later in the game and it kills me. i gotta keep tellin myself to scout.

Biske

Reaction score