Photoshop Help Desk

Discussion in 'Artistic Expressions' started by AxL, Jun 28, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. DigitalElite

    DigitalElite Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2003
    Messages:
    2,455
    Likes received:
    0
    Trophy points:
    36
    Compressing

    Question here:

    How do u compress your files in photoshop so they are under 30 kb??

    plz help me on this one

    And directed to Axl how do you do the lightning in the background of ur sig
     
  2. Master.America

    Master.America Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Messages:
    4,225
    Likes received:
    0
    Trophy points:
    0
    From:
    San Jose, CA
    Scan lines on websites

    This's probably more of an HTML question, but...

    How do you get scan lines to show up right in website backgrounds? For some reason, the scanlines keep enlarging themselves, or showing up slot black/white instead of transparent. Should they be saved under a specific format or something?
     
  3. Death_Noodle

    Death_Noodle BattleForums Addict

    Joined:
    May 18, 2003
    Messages:
    574
    Likes received:
    0
    Trophy points:
    0
    From:
    Cali
    ok everyone has had questions on how to make cool boarders so ill explain how i did it.

    1)once you have your finished pic and you want to put on a boarder create a new layer, select it, and color it the color it the color you want it to be.

    2)you shouldent be able to see your pic. this is ok its only the top layer. now select the polygonal lasso and make the shape of your boarder when u have it, cut it from the layer.

    3)you should now see your pic with a boarder but were not done yet. get eycandy 4000 from a link in page 2 i think and use the bevel emboss option

    4)mess with the options and you should make a cool boarder

    (later ill add pics to help more so you have a visual of whqat im talkin about)
     
  4. Original Raccoon

    Original Raccoon Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2002
    Messages:
    1,265
    Likes received:
    0
    Trophy points:
    0
    I asked this in a thread Reign made, but it vanished for some reason...

    How do you "slice" edges off?
    How do you put a transparent layer on top or whatever?
     
  5. Dirty[elf]

    Dirty[elf] Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    Messages:
    635
    Likes received:
    0
    Trophy points:
    16
    wut is the advantage as to using....

    hue / saturation

    vs

    color balance

    is there one? can someone help me out here.. thanks
     
  6. DigitalElite

    DigitalElite Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2003
    Messages:
    2,455
    Likes received:
    0
    Trophy points:
    36
    Re: Compressing

    Anyone??:confused:

    And to make a layer transperent?
    use the opacity option in the layers window select the layer you want to make transperent and make the opacity lower!!:p

    Dont know how but I quadruple posted!! I honestly didnt do it on purpose dont know how it happened. Could a mod delete the three below this one.
     
  7. Master.America

    Master.America Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Messages:
    4,225
    Likes received:
    0
    Trophy points:
    0
    From:
    San Jose, CA
    Re: Re: Compressing

    Dude... quadruple posting isn't cool. I've got this thread subscribed, so I now have one new email for each of those posts... if it happened because of lag just a minute ago, I noticed that too...

    About compressing: first, .gif is probably the best way to save your images. Most sig-sized images should be <30KB. As for jpegs, I like to save them in highest quality in Photoshop (which usually makes the file ~70kb) then open the jpeg image in MS Paint and save it again. I'm not sure why, but it usually compresses down to 15-30KB's without losing image quality.

    Oh.. five posts. I didn't get a fifth email.

    EDIT: Wait... yeah I did.

    EDIT (again): Alright... I just got a sixth one.
     
  8. ProdigiousLucidOsprey

    ProdigiousLucidOsprey Member!

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2003
    Messages:
    1,723
    Likes received:
    0
    Trophy points:
    0
    From:
    Monterey, Cali
    Yes it is just use the gradient tool, and then select background to tranparent.
     
  9. Rock_on

    Rock_on Premium Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2002
    Messages:
    2,579
    Likes received:
    0
    Trophy points:
    0
    From:
    209 bitches
    Ok whever i go to put text on an image, i make the text box and the no matter what size i set the text as the text is soo small you cant see it. what caused this? what do i do?
     
  10. MacMan

    MacMan BattleForums Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2003
    Messages:
    1,943
    Likes received:
    1
    Trophy points:
    38
    I hate this thread.

    Don't use direct gradiants for transparancy, use a layer mask with b/w grads.

    On a note to the mods, you should all seriously reconsider closing a help thread the instant you see it and refering its maker here. Anyone who asks a question is going to have their post drowned out by others, and the time it takes just to read through new questions is enough to make me not want to view this. A straightforward "Hey how do you ___" thread would get questions asked faster.
     
  11. Dirty[elf]

    Dirty[elf] Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    Messages:
    635
    Likes received:
    0
    Trophy points:
    16
    Re: wut is the advantage as to using....

     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.