For those who have not played a MMPORPG

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mathiuas

Reaction score
Website
Visit site
Let me preface this post with the fact that I just discovered these forums while trolling for WoW info. So in effect I am a newb to this forum. What I am posting below is open to flames if you feel so inclined ;-)

From the messages I am reading in this forum I am a little concerned that the vast majority of people posting here have little if any experience with online role playing games. I want to make a few points here that may or may not have been considered by those reading these forums.

1. Yes there is a monthly fee for subscription. Usually between $10-15 US. This pays for Hardware maintenance, bug fixes, In game customer support, new storyline development (i.e. development of new quests etc within the existing game). There are quite a few more places where the monthly fees go but these are a few of the more important one.

2. There is more accountability for your actions in this type of game that there was within bnet. If you make an ass of yourself in a MMPORPG you will develop a reputation and things can get ugly as it spreads across the server. I have seen people black balled from guilds and servers for bad behavior ;-)

3. No cheats, dupes or hacks....if you get caught your account is locked or in cases of extreme situations deleted. Since this is a moderated game unlike bnet the Game moderators arent gonna put up with anyone monkeying with their code ;-)

4. In all the other MMPORPG's I have ever been in the High level end game will most likely require cooperation by many players to attack and defeat the boss mobs at higher levels...so see #2 ;-)