Countering dryads?

Discussion in 'Warcraft Strategy Guides' started by PsYcHoTiC, Oct 21, 2002.

  1. PsYcHoTiC

    PsYcHoTiC Premium Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2002
    Messages:
    216
    Likes received:
    0
    Trophy points:
    0
    From:
    Oregon
    Dryads

    OK, everyone list their ways to stop fuggin dryads... spells do nothing to them, and they slow you so its hard to get near them, they have a decent attack damage and range, they dispel BL, Poly, Slow, whatever you do to them... You can get them in tier 2 also... Plz, I'm desperate to know
     
  2. SkuZZy

    SkuZZy Retired Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2002
    Messages:
    1,052
    Likes received:
    0
    Trophy points:
    36
    From:
    Canada
    You over power them... if your opponent is going dryads, then just make lots of hunresses or necros or aboms or whatever. I've never really had a problem with dryads, cause I go archers + huntresses and I can build up my army much faster than someone who goes dryads + huntresses cause it's cheaper and faster (all tier 1 for me). So I guess the answer to your question is, scout frequently and if you see them going dryads, end it quickly. If you let an opponent build up a strong army of dryads and huntresses, then all you're doing is making it more difficult and you will definately have problems beating them.
     
  3. Swooper

    Swooper Respected Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Messages:
    1,396
    Likes received:
    0
    Trophy points:
    0
    From:
    Ohio
    I agree with Skuzzy. Just go mass melee and kick some dryad ass.
     
  4. Silynt Rage

    Silynt Rage Member!

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2002
    Messages:
    1,227
    Likes received:
    0
    Trophy points:
    0
    I play elf

    and I go dryads a lot of the time simply to counter air... and to back up my team mates Melee... Dryads get absolutely raped by Melee units... even if they do slow them down, they do very little damage.

    Necros are very effective because their spells don't directly effect the dryad such as raise dead. Aboms, Tauren, Huntress and Knights usually rape them.

    Mass any melee units and you'll usually own dryads, of course you can't come out expecting to have every unit afterwords, they're a Tier 2 unit... Priests and Sorceress' are never owned, nor are Tauren or aboms. Each race has their own special creature, I think this is the one of the elves... I use them frequently.
     
  5. AKA-47

    AKA-47 Member!

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Messages:
    1,328
    Likes received:
    0
    Trophy points:
    0
    Footmen
     
  6. Emperor Pan I

    Emperor Pan I Respected Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2002
    Messages:
    12,653
    Likes received:
    11
    Trophy points:
    0
    From:
    Canada
    its not posted as "footman"
    because thats a waste of a post, it would be:

    "Mass footman is a way of countering dryads in my opinion"

    and anyways, knights would do much better, since i can get knights as fasst as anyone can get dryads. (humans fast build is a great tool to get what u want).
     
  7. AKA-47

    AKA-47 Member!

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Messages:
    1,328
    Likes received:
    0
    Trophy points:
    0
    If u rush for knights ull be wasted by huntresses.
     
  8. Emperor Pan I

    Emperor Pan I Respected Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2002
    Messages:
    12,653
    Likes received:
    11
    Trophy points:
    0
    From:
    Canada
    thats what sorceress and priest support is for.
     
  9. Placebo

    Placebo Member!

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2002
    Messages:
    928
    Likes received:
    0
    Trophy points:
    0
    If poly had auto-cast it would own, just like possess (if it had autocast too)
     
  10. Emperor Pan I

    Emperor Pan I Respected Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2002
    Messages:
    12,653
    Likes received:
    11
    Trophy points:
    0
    From:
    Canada
    I agree, thank god raise dead is auto cast, it was gay in war 1 and 2. now i think thatroar should be auto cast, whenever you are attacked a unit roars. or even, anti magicshield is auto cast, so magic will do nothhing for banshee, as she possess automaticaly.
     
  11. SkuZZy

    SkuZZy Retired Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2002
    Messages:
    1,052
    Likes received:
    0
    Trophy points:
    36
    From:
    Canada
    lol... if everything in the game is auto then what would be the difference between a human player and a computer? :D
     
  12. Emperor Pan I

    Emperor Pan I Respected Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2002
    Messages:
    12,653
    Likes received:
    11
    Trophy points:
    0
    From:
    Canada
    well, i think the ensnare for raiders NEED to be auto cast, or i can't cliakc fast enough SO I GET PISSED. and to answer ur question skuZ, the attack pattern an units built is different. but then again, a fun part of the game is selecting the spells and such.
     
  13. Placebo

    Placebo Member!

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2002
    Messages:
    928
    Likes received:
    0
    Trophy points:
    0
    The reason the Raiders ensnare isn't auto-castable because it can stop any unit from moving.
     
  14. Emperor Pan I

    Emperor Pan I Respected Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2002
    Messages:
    12,653
    Likes received:
    11
    Trophy points:
    0
    From:
    Canada
    I took that into consideration, so i came up with an idea, u auto cast it for air, and then you can choose it for ground units!! ya isn't that smart.
     
  15. Placebo

    Placebo Member!

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2002
    Messages:
    928
    Likes received:
    0
    Trophy points:
    0
    Then they would have to rewrite auto-cast.
     
  16. what odes it matter?
     
  17. AKA-47

    AKA-47 Member!

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Messages:
    1,328
    Likes received:
    0
    Trophy points:
    0
    If all spells had autocast then the game wouldn't require any micro at all. Polymorph does NOT need autocast.
     
  18. Emperor Pan I

    Emperor Pan I Respected Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2002
    Messages:
    12,653
    Likes received:
    11
    Trophy points:
    0
    From:
    Canada
    Yes it DOES need auto cast.
     
  19. HungLung[SC]

    HungLung[SC] Member!

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2002
    Messages:
    34
    Likes received:
    0
    Trophy points:
    0
    No, Pmorph definetely doesnt...need autocast...its a waste of mana to pmorph all there rifleman when you could pmorph there knights or aboms.. taurens..anything big...all you have to do ishit O and click a big unit...i dont even set raise dead on auto..same with banshees...auto possess would be really dumb ..
     
  20. AKA-47

    AKA-47 Member!

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Messages:
    1,328
    Likes received:
    0
    Trophy points:
    0
    U select all ur sorceresses, click "o" and a unit u need to polymorph, and repeat 10 times. That way only one sorc will polymorph at the same time. Takes about 3 seconds to polymorph 10 units.