Chrono Trigger Discussion.

Darkmatter

Battle God
Reaction score
Website
www.battleforums.com
I want to discuss with some people here who have played this game as much if not more then I have. I recently started playing it with Diatenshi and well it's been memory-reviving to say the least. Let's discuss about anything Chrono Trigger related; characters, magic, storyline, etc. :)

I'll start off, with the magic’s. There’s only a key few that hold great power, as in that do a lot of damage. There's three main ones, that are actual 20 MP spells (ice, fire, lightning, shadow elements) and those are: Flare, Luminare, and DarkMatter. Which one does the most damage? I compared, and on average DarkMatter seems to do the most, but this is because Magus always has the highest MAG level. Crono has a very low level, while Lucca has a fairly high level as well.

Magic damage depends on the users MAG level, and maybe their level overall. Assuming this, Magus would do the most with DarkMatter to a monster with no resistances to anything and no weaknesses to anything. I searched for such a monster but none seemed to get honest damage, as it was varied based on each element. I did, however, tested double star MAG'd Flare, Luminare, and DarkMatter on Lavos. Here’s what I got:

On his second to last Form, and his last form:

DarkMatter: 2200 (2250-2275 respectively)
Luminare: 2950 (2900-2975 respectively)
Flare: 2525 (2500-2575 respectively)

I was very surprised to see that Darkmatter did the least of them, and that Flare got in second! I knew that spell was good. :)