Carrier or battlecruiser?

ArMeD_SuRvIvOr

BattleForums Junior Member
Reaction score
I've been playing starcraft for 4 years (started playing in year 2001) and never posted on a forum, so this is my chance :p

Anyway, most newbs think that massing carriers is a good way to win the game. The only drawback for this strat is that it mostly happens in money maps, where newbs think they are good LOL. I find it newbish and stupid to do but hard to counter in normal games (if that happens, then you are a newb cuz you let your opponent build such a formidable force...) You can always storm them or focus fire with scouts as Protoss and maybe with mc. As terran you can cloak wraiths, and focus fire with EMP and some gols. And for Zerg, who have the hardest time against this, may kill carriers by massing scourges and some devourers combined with hydralisks and defilers with plague, but it's really hard for zerg to counter massed carriers. My point is, in a late game, a terran player controls about 18 bcs and a protoss, about 12 carriers, who will win (both kind of units not upgraded)?
I wanna know your opinion about this! please post!

Lord of Nukes

BattleForums Member
Reaction score
Website
www.scindex.com
It depends on upgrades and the players' abiltiies. Battlecruisers will attack Interceptors if they aren't handled properly, but will probably end up taking out everything with 3/2 odds like you suggested. If both players are reasonably skilled, the Protoss player will havea big advantage because Carriers are faster and have a larger range if micromanaged. Battlecruisers with the Yomato Cannon though is very useful for ruining that though. Shield Batteries will be great for the Protoss, and Science Vessels for the Terran. Personally, I'd have more Wraiths and less Battlecruisers, but in this scenario, the Battlecruisers have an advantage, unless the Protoss player can micromanage well.

PauseBreak

BattleForums Senior Member
Reaction score