BF = no gif support for avatars wtf??

Discussion in 'Forum Support' started by MGCImtR, Apr 9, 2009.

  1. MGCImtR

    MGCImtR eSports Player

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2003
    Messages:
    850
    Likes received:
    0
    Trophy points:
    0
    Gifs become unanimated when uploaded for an avatar.... pfff. Now fix the gifs.....
     
  2. RyanXWing

    RyanXWing Nothing special

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2002
    Messages:
    2,204
    Likes received:
    1
    Trophy points:
    38
    From:
    Seattle, WA.
    Check mine, is it broked?!

    Nope lrn 2 plai
     
  3. MGCImtR

    MGCImtR eSports Player

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2003
    Messages:
    850
    Likes received:
    0
    Trophy points:
    0
    So it works for Premium only? I tried mine at 140x140, I know for non-premium it is 128x128 max. So I made the gif 100x100 and the thing freezes, it only shows the first frame, does not wanna start. When I load the gif from my PC and save the new avatar that's a message that appears shortly on the top of the User CP page:

    [​IMG]
     
  4. kinkarso

    kinkarso ex-admin

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2007
    Messages:
    836
    Likes received:
    0
    Trophy points:
    0
    From:
    Vancouver, BC
    I'll take a look. in the main time. could you please upload it to imageshack.us, and use it as an external linked image. See if that works.

    Thanks,
    Donny
     
  5. concrete_sox

    concrete_sox Premium Respected Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2006
    Messages:
    3,717
    Likes received:
    7
    Trophy points:
    0
    its if the image size is 2 large or if its size is 2 big bf will auto resize it but it will become un animated
     
  6. MGCImtR

    MGCImtR eSports Player

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2003
    Messages:
    850
    Likes received:
    0
    Trophy points:
    0
    Yes that seems to be the problem since Ryan's and kinkarso's avatars work if I use them. It says the file size is too large if I use it from imageshack. What I'd offer is if only premium members have no limits for that and can use larger res avatars, at least those who are not to have just res limit like 128x128 and not file size limit, dunno 35 KB is too little. Even if I made mine 100x100 it wouldn't work properly just because of the size (90KB).
     
  7. concrete_sox

    concrete_sox Premium Respected Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2006
    Messages:
    3,717
    Likes received:
    7
    Trophy points:
    0
    make it 50x50
     
  8. MGCImtR

    MGCImtR eSports Player

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2003
    Messages:
    850
    Likes received:
    0
    Trophy points:
    0
    Just offering the admins to prolly give us at least 100KB of file size with the same res limits. By deleting half of the frames and shrinking it to 80x80, 33,6 KB it works but oh well. Also if I shrink the gif, I lose quality. If I shrink each picture before adding it to the gif, the quality is still good as you can see.
     
  9. concrete_sox

    concrete_sox Premium Respected Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2006
    Messages:
    3,717
    Likes received:
    7
    Trophy points:
    0
    im just happy things worked out for you
     
  10. jhonytaibu

    jhonytaibu Guest

    I am little confuse to upload image in my posting?

    1) What is size limit to upload image as well as video files on Avatar?
    2) What is size limit to upload image as well as video files in signature?
    3) which resolution works on posting images and video files?
    4) How can i compressed media files?

    Your reply would be appreciated?
     
  11. Tyrael

    Tyrael Ready Yourself

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,292
    Likes received:
    0
    Trophy points:
    0
    From:
    In the stars