Register for free, and make this box disappear!

Welcome to the BF Forums! Register Now, It's Free!


Welcome to the BF Forums; your source for the latest video game news, strategies, discussions, and resources. Join over 66,000 like-minded gamers to chat about your interests in our community.

You are currently viewing the forums as a guest user, which limits your access to certain content, contests, downloads, and more. By joining our free community, you will be able to respond in discussions/articles, contact members privately (PM), participate in regular-scheduled contests, see less advertisements, and have access to many other features. Registration is quick, easy, and completely free. Whatever your game interest may be, you'll find information here where people realize that games are more than just poker online.


Have your questions answered. Share your thoughts about a topic. Take 2 minutes, Register Now!
BattleForums.com Blizzard Gaming Forums > General > Member Introductions

We're Half-Way There!! - BF Lotto: $50 Ebay or Amazon Gift Card - A Single Click is All It Takes...

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-27-2005, 05:20 PM   #1 (permalink)
VPN
BattleForums Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: sunny side up
Posts: 11
My Antivirus doesn't like this Forum anymore...

Guys, since yesterday my Antivirus detects some HTML code which attempts to activate additional executable code on this webpage ("MHTMLRedir.Exploit") - so what's up?

are you really running some malicious exploits here or is just my Antivirus crap?

:angry
VPN is offline   Reply With Quote
Beitrag Sponsored Links

__________________
Ads suck! Take 2 minutes to register for your free account, and GET RID OF THESE ADS!
Old 09-27-2005, 05:54 PM   #2 (permalink)
BattleForums Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Age: 21
Posts: 2,351
Which browser are you using to view this site, because if it is IE your browser might just be inffected with a virus that runs on any website you go to because it is part of your browser.


http://securityresponse.symantec.com...r.exploit.html
Auron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2005, 06:24 PM   #3 (permalink)
VPN
BattleForums Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: sunny side up
Posts: 11
I'm using IE6 and my system seems to be clear (checked it with several tools now) - and no, I get this Antivirus message only on this website, all others are okay?!?!
VPN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2005, 06:36 PM   #4 (permalink)
Respected Member
 
Galatia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Greece
Age: 44
Posts: 2,603
What anit-virus are you using, mr. VPN?
__________________
Galatia is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2005, 09:39 PM   #5 (permalink)
BANNED
 
Roach Of Discord's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Age: 24
Posts: 6,038
I've never heard of this issue, and I'll probably have to say it's internet explorer at fault, until I get more information.

Try browsing with firefox. See if it makes a difference.
Roach Of Discord is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2005, 10:46 PM   #6 (permalink)
VPN
BattleForums Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: sunny side up
Posts: 11
strange: same message with Opera, but no reaction with Firefox? what's going on here?
VPN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2005, 11:56 PM   #7 (permalink)
BattleForums Senior Member
 
Magikarp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,129
MHTMLRedir.Exploit is definitely not a virus. It's malicious code in a webpage that attempts to install executable files on your computer and then execute them. I have no idea why your virus scanner would pick that up.
__________________
Magikarp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2005, 02:52 PM   #8 (permalink)
Laharl
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
My Opera and Internet Explorer don't pick up this error. I'll try firefox. One second.

Nope. No problem. What anti-virus are you using, os, etc?
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2005, 04:05 PM   #9 (permalink)
VPN
BattleForums Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: sunny side up
Posts: 11
I'm using Norton so far and it's not only the Antivirus: I get also in top of the browser the following message:

"This site might require the following ActiveX control: 'please click yes to install our free browser E...' from 'Pacerd, Ltd'. Click here to install..."

and once again: I get this messages only on this webpage! so what's going on?
VPN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2005, 09:10 AM   #10 (permalink)
BattleForums Senior Member
 
Tupac Amaru Shakur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Age: 21
Posts: 1,848
dont install the active x, and the messege u get i get when using firefox and clicking on someones aim icon under their avater.
__________________

Reality is wrong,
Dreams are for real
~Tupac Amaru Shakur
Tupac Amaru Shakur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2005, 09:48 AM   #11 (permalink)
Aya Matsuura is awesome
 
x42bn6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Trieste, Friuli-Venezia Giulia
Age: 20
Posts: 15,282
You have spyware. To put it frankly, it's probably triggered by one of the advertisments on this site.

To remove it, go to the Tech Forum and go to the Files you need thread. Download the spyware removal programs, update them, then run them.*
__________________
* IM IN UR WIKI RVRTING UR EDITS

x42bn6 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Get rid of all these ads! Take 30 seconds to register.

« STICKy's...... | language? »

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:36 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.2 | Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.1.0